Paint is done, more or less

Standard

I’m not going to mess with it much further, is what I guess I am saying. I had originally intended for it to be a single stage paint job, but while trying to cut and buff the paint left it with an unacceptable amount of scratches that I could not get rid of. So I got it the best I could, then experimented with clearcoating it. This filled in the scratches and gave it a good level of gloss. That’s the upside. The downside was basically starting all over with fresh coats of paint, which would then also need to be cut and buffed. And redone, where I screwed up, which I did many times. In the end, it’s not a flawless paint job, but it’s one I can easily live with. Here’s where it’s at now.

The next jobs are getting the door handles installed, the rear window installed, and the body badging on. I’m still debating whether I’ll add the “LANCIA” and “RALLY” script to the back of the ducktail. I think it may look cleaner without it.

After those relatively minor jobs are done, then it’s the interior work. I currently have the dash, center consoles and door handles at the upholsterer, I should be hearing from him in the next couple of weeks. More on that in future posts.

4 thoughts on “Paint is done, more or less

  1. Steve Keltner

    I could live with that paint 🙂 If you can’t I have a trailer and gas money. I’m so looking forward to the first motion video on the road.

Leave a comment